Sukan Hari Ini

Barcelona win Liga title at Levante

May 12, 2011
1 minute read
Barcelona win Liga title at Levante

Seydou Keita is mobbed by his Barcelona team-mates

FC Barcelona have been crowned Liga champions for the third successive season, and 21st time overall, following a 1-1 draw at Levante UD.

Needing a point to secure the title, Josep Guardiola’s team took the lead on 28 minutes when Seydou Keita headed in a measured chip forward from Xavi Hernández. Levante, unbeaten at home since 9 January, levelled as a result of two lapses in the Azulgrana defence. Gerard Piqué failed to cut out a ball over the top and when goalkeeper Víctor Valdés tried to clear, he merely succeeded in teeing up Felipe Caicedo.

Winning the league at the Ciutat de València is nothing new for Barcelona. Under Frank Rijkaard in May 2005 the Catalan team wrapped up the title there with a 1-1 draw, Samuel Eto’o equalising in the second half.

Elsewhere, fourth-placed Villarreal CF drew 0-0 against relegated UD Almería. That result means Valencia CF, in action now at RCD Espanyol, will be confirmed as finishing third with two matches remaining if they prevail at the Estadi Cornellà-El Prat. –

Komen & Pendapat

Leave a Reply