English World

Najib wants ministers to give their best to country

PUTRAJAYA: Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak has chaired the first meeting of the new Cabinet at Putra Perdana here.

In his address, the Prime Minister outlined the direction the country should take and invoked the spirit of exemplary service to the ministers by giving their best to the people and the country.

The meeting, which started at 3.20pm and ended at 5.30pm yesterday, was attended by Chief Secretary to the Government Datuk Seri Dr Ali Hamsa.

Earlier, the Cabinet ministers had a photograph session with Najib.

Najib announced the appointment of 30 ministers and 27 deputy ministers made up of senior ministers, technocrats and new faces whom he believed could assist him in pursuing the national transformation agenda.

Meanwhile, Deputy Prime Minister Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin led the ministers and deputy ministers in the swearing-in ceremony before the Yang di-Pertuan Agong Tuanku Abdul Halim Mu’adzam Shah at Istana Negara in Kuala Lumpur.

Muhyiddin took the oath of office and allegiance as deputy prime minister and education and higher learning minister I at the ceremony, which began at 10.10am.

He later signed the official document of appointment before Chief Justice Tun Arifin Zakaria and Dr Ali.

Also present were the Raja Permaisuri Agong Tuanku Hajah Haminah, Najib and his wife Datin Seri Rosmah Mansor, and former prime minister Tun Abdullah Ahmad Badawi.

This was followed by six senior ministers, namely Datuk Seri G. Palanivel (Natural Resources and Environment Minister), Datuk Seri Nazri Aziz (Tourism and Culture Minister), Datuk Seri Hishammuddin Hussein (Defence Minister as well as acting Transport Minister), Datuk Seri Mohd Shafie Apdal (Rural and Regional Development Minister), Datuk Seri Mustapa Mohamed (International Trade and Industry Minister), and Datuk Seri Maximus J. Ongkili (Energy, Green Technology and Water Minister).

Four batches of ministers then followed suit to take their oaths and sign their documents of appointments.

Twenty-four deputy ministers were also sworn in and received their letters of appointment.

After the ceremony, the ministers and deputy ministers had a photograph session with Tuanku Abdul Halim.

– Bernama

Komen & Pendapat


!function(d,s,id){var js,fjs=d.getElementsByTagName(s)[0],p=/^http:/.test(d.location)?'http':'https';if(!d.getElementById(id)){js=d.createElement(s);js.id=id;js.src=p+"://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js";fjs.parentNode.insertBefore(js,fjs);}}(document,"script","twitter-wjs");