English World

DPM: One or two high performance schools struggling to maintain the grade

Aiming high: Muhyiddin (right) and Deputy Education Minister Datuk Mary Yap chatting with school heads and students from the latest batch of schools to be awarded the ‘high performance’ status:-

KUALA LUMPUR: Evaluation shows one or two high performance schools are struggling to keep their standards high, says Deputy Prime Minis­ter Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin.

“But they will remain as high performance schools for now,” he said. “If their standards continue to fall for two or three years in a row, then we will have to remove them from the ‘high performance’ category,” he added.

Muhyiddin said such schools were constantly monitored to ensure they maintained the global standard of quality education.

The Education Minister said among the methods used to monitor high performance schools were students’ examination scores and reports by the School Inspectorate.

“These schools show that we already have institutions within our education system that are of a global standard,” he told reporters here yesterday. “They also act as benchmarks for other schools.”

Introduced as part of the Government Transformation Programme, the first batch of high performance schools were announced in 2010.

Schools are selected based on their overall academic and co-curricular achievements.

Aside from receiving greater autonomy in currricular, financial and staffing matters, high performance schools also receive extra financial support from the ministry.

In their first year, schools receive RM700,000, followed by RM500,000 in the second year and RM300,000 in subsequent years.

There are currently 128 such schools nationwide, including the 13 new high performance schools announced by Muhyiddin yesterday.

They are SK Air Merah, Kedah; SK Seri Wakaf Baharu, Kelantan; SK Kubang Kerian 3, Kelantan and SM Sains Rembau, Negri Sembilan.

Others include SJK(T) Ringlet, Pahang; SK St Thomas, Pahang; SMK Abdul Rahman Talib, Pahang; SMK Bukit Jambul, Penang; SM Sains Tun Syed Sheh Shahabudin, Penang.

Also listed are SK Lingga Baru, Sabah; SK Saujana Impian, Selangor; SK Kampong Raja, Terengganu; and SK Putrajaya Presint 9 (2), Putrajaya.

– The Star

Komen & Pendapat


!function(d,s,id){var js,fjs=d.getElementsByTagName(s)[0],p=/^http:/.test(d.location)?'http':'https';if(!d.getElementById(id)){js=d.createElement(s);js.id=id;js.src=p+"://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js";fjs.parentNode.insertBefore(js,fjs);}}(document,"script","twitter-wjs");